Museums & Interpretive Centres
Add this location
to my itinerary
Niagara Falls History Museum
Take a step back into time...discover original artifacts and fascinating stories from Niagara's past at the Niagara Falls History Museum (formerly the Lundy's Lane Historical Museum). Exhibitions reflect the unique and varied history of the City, with particular emphasis on the War of 1812, Early Tourism, the Building of the City, Black History, and the Loretto Academy. The Museum is owned by the City of Niagara Falls and operated by the City of Niagara Falls Museums.
The museum showcases a wide range of exhibits pertaining to the City of Niagara Falls and its role as a celebrated tourism destination, including memorabilia and historic prints of Niagara Falls and a world class collection of Niagara Falls souvenir china and postcards in the museum's gift shop.
The museum also prides itself on its extensive collection of artifacts from the War of 1812. Information is available about the significant battles that took place during the war, including the Battle of Chippawa, The Battle of Lundy's Lane, and The Battle at Queenston Heights.
The Niagara Falls History Museum also provides a glimpse into life in the city of Niagara Falls of yesteryear, and provides interactive interpretation about how the city has evolved into one of the most popular tourism destinations in the world.
The Niagara Falls History Museum is also active within the local community. Museum staff and volunteers provide guided tours of other areas in Niagara Falls that share a history of the War of 1812. These include the Battleground Hotel and Museum and the Drummond Hill Cemetery. They are also involved in local school programs with students of all grade levels, fostering interest in their city's rich history.
Community TripClip Audio File
Click to play or download Lundy's Lane Historical Museum TripClip (mp3 format), a Community TripClip submitted by Cavelle Schmidt and Kristin Atkinson. Note that contents are current to December 2009, and that several changes have occurred at the Museum since then.
This destination is also part of the Battlefields of The War of 1812 Tour.
From the USA (Rainbow Bridge):
From Niagara Falls:
The Niagara Falls Historical Museum is also a significant repository of information and artifacts pertaining to Black history and heritage in Niagara.
The building which houses the Niagara Falls History Museum was erected in 1874 on the site of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, and originally served as the Stamford Township Hall. John Latshaw, a prominent local architect, was the designer for what is now one of the few remaining structures from that time period in the City of Niagara Falls.
The Lundy's Lane Historical Museum was established in 1961 by the Lundy's Lane Historical Society and originally opened in the Mackenzie House on Drummond Road. In 1962, the Museum was turned over to the City of Niagara Falls. In 1970 the Museum moved from its former site at Drummond Road and Lundy's Lane to its present home on Ferry Street.
The name of the museum was changed in May 2010 from "Lundy's Lane Historical Museum" to "Niagara Falls History Museum", a change which better reflects its broad interest in all aspects of the history of Niagara Falls. There will also be extensive changes to the building and premises - the 1812 Legacy Project is an exciting initiative which will renovate and improve the the Niagara Falls History Museum, improve access to the Lundy’s Lane National Historic Site, and provide visitors with a much better understanding of the unique history of the City of Niagara Falls, the War of 1812 and the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. Read more about the 1812 Legacy Project here.
The Museum welcomes your support. Visit http://www.niagarafallshistorymuseum.ca/ for further information about how you can help.
Above: Architect's rendering of the Gallery, planned for the museum after renovation.
The Niagara Falls History Museum is located on one of the most significant battlegrounds from the War of 1812, just a few minutes away from Drummond Hill Cemetary.
The museum is also a 5 minute drive from popular tourist destinations such as Clifton Hill, Queen Victoria Park, and the Canadian Horseshoe Falls.
The Official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website. Historic Sites and Museums. December 2, 2009. http://www.visit1812.com/historic-sites/BattlegroundHotelMuseum.html
Social Media links:
This webpage was prepared by Brock University Tourism and Environment students Kristin Atkinson and Cavelle Schmid in December 2009, and revised by the webmaster in September 2011. TripClip narration by Kristin Atkinson, photos by Cavelle Schmid and Kristin Atkinson.