These majestic gates were once the entrance of the Lake Lodge Boy's School. Lake Lodge was originally the gracious homestead built by Abraham Nelles in 1812. Abraham Nelles was an important figure in the community and played a significant role in the War of 1812. There are documented letters sent to Nelles during the war which can be found in the Ontario Archives.
In 1893, Abraham's great granddaughter, Julia, and her husband, William Drope, turned the property into a boys' school which was famous for its academic and athletic excellence, and drew students from around the world. It's last graduates were during the 1940s.
Sadly the whole property has been developed, but the gates still stand as a reminder of a family's legacy. The gates have been designated by the Town of Grimsby as being of architectural and/or historical significance.
East of Maple Avenue on the north side of Lake Street
Ownership & Management
Town of Grimbsy
Lake Lodge Gates
UTM easting 617878
UTM northing 4784026
Grimsby Historical Society, Grimsby Archives
Carnegie Commons Building
25 Adelaide Street
Tel (905) 309-0796
© 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012. Unless otherwise indicated, all information contained on this website is the copyright property of Brock University
and Tourism Niagara
. All other information is the copyright property of its respective owner(s).