The locks of the first Welland Canal were constructed out of wood in comparison to the locks of the second and third canals which were made of cut-stone. Located in this small landscaped alcove, nestled at the site of the first lock of the second Welland Canal, you can actually see the cut-stone construction and lock gate hinges built around 1842. It was closed after the third Welland Canal was built upstream at Port Weller.
The Welland Canal Preservation Association helped develop the heritage significance of this park.
From Toronto: QEW exit #51, St. Catharines (Seventh Street)
Left (north) on Seventh Street
Right (east) on Lakeshore Road which will become Main Street
Follow the signage to Port Dalhousie
From Niagara/U.S.: QEW exit #47, St. Catharines (Ontario Street)
Left (north) on Ontario Street
Left onto Lakeport and follow the signage to Port Dalhousie
Ressler, Rene F. Incredible! The Dig at Old Lock One Lakeside Park, Port Dalhousie. Welland Canals Advocate. Autumn 2008.
DigginÃ¢â‚¬â„¢ it! Lock One of One. Jon Jouppien finds it where he predicted. Dalhousie Peer.
Ownership & Management
City of St. Catharines
Lock One Park
Lakeport Road / Lock Street
St. Catharines, Ontario
UTM easting 640916.05
UTM northing 4784768.03